More and more people are raving out healthy fats. But what exactly is considered healthy fat? Let’s dig up everything about healthy fats and why you need them in your diet.

Omega 3, 6, and 9 fatty acids are the beneficial fats necessary for the proper functioning of our bodies. Below we have explained everything about the Omega family! 

What are these acids, and what are the food sources for each type?

Omega 3:

Omega 3 fatty acids are polyunsaturated fats that our bodies cannot manufacture independently. There are 3 types of omega 3 acids the human body benefits from;

 Alpha-linolenic acid (ALA)

 Eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA)

  Docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)

Foods rich in omega 3 Fatty Acids:




Chia seeds



It promotes proper brain development in early childhood, enhances eye health, boosts immunity, fights depression, anxiety, and AHDH in children, improves cognitive functioning, and maintains heart health.

Omega 6:

Omega 6 acids are also polyunsaturated fatty acids, likewise necessary for the body and considered a significant energy source.

The most important omega 6 fatty acids are: 

 Linoleic acid (LA) 

Gamma-linolenic acid (GLA) 

Arachidonic acid (ARA) 

Foods rich in omega 6 Fatty Acids:



Corn oil

Sunflower seeds

 Soybean oil


Omega 6 promotes skin and hair growth, enhances reproductive and bone health, and regulates proper metabolism.

Omega 9:

Omega 9 fatty acids are monounsaturated. The most common omega 9 fatty acid in the diet is Oleic acid. Although the body can produce this fatty acid, consuming it through diet has a significant impact on health.

Food Sources For Omega 9 Fatty Acids:

 Olive oil

Canola oil

Sunflower oil



Improve heart health by increasing good cholesterol and decreasing bad cholesterol levels. This helps people with diabetes, improves immunity and memory, promotes skin health, and elevates mood.

Differences between Omega 3, 6, and 9:

The primary distinction is their chemical structure and formula; Omega 3 and 6 are polyunsaturated fatty acids with double bonds. Omega 3 has three, and Omega 6 has six. Whereas Omega 9 fats are monounsaturated, they only have one double bond.

The second distinction is that the body cannot produce Omega 3 and Omega 6, making them essential fats instead of Omega 9, which might be considered unnecessary because the body can produce it.

Increasing Omegas 3, 6, and 9 is a great way to boost your overall health!